Do you need info about universities in Rivers State? Then, you’re in the right place.

Rivers State, also known simply as Rivers capital and largest city, Port Harcourt, is economically significant as the centre of Nigeria’s oil industry.

There are 3 universities in Rivers State; University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State University and Ignatius Ajuru University of Education

University of Port Harcourt

Uniport is a Federal owned and operated university established in 1975.

The University of Port Harcourt was ranked the sixth in Africa and the first in Nigeria by Times Higher Education (THE) in 2015.

Uniport offers undergraduate and post graduate studies; pre-degree and A’levels.

There are 12 Faculties at the universty, which are listed below;

  1. Faculty of Humanities
  2. Faculty of Social Sciences
  3. Faculty of Education
  4. Faculty of Engineering
  5. Faculty of Management Sciences
  6. College of Health Sciences
  7. Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
  8. Faculty of Science
  9. Faculty of Dentistry
  10. Faculty of Pharmacy
  11. Faculty of Agriculture
  12. Faculty of Law

Rivers State University

Rivers State University is a state owned and operated university that was established in 1972.

Rivers State University

The University offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies, the faculties are listed below;

  1. Agriculture
  2. Basic Medical Sciences
  3. Engineering
  4. Education
  5. Environmental Sciences
  6. Law
  7. Management Sciences
  8. Science

Ignatius Ajuru University of Education

Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, (formerly Rivers State University of Education) is a Nigerian university based in Rumuolumeni, established in 1971.

The university was borne out of a need to provide a solution to the shortage of trained teachers for its rapidly expanding programme of post-primary education after the civil war.

Ignatius Ajuru University of Education

IAUE offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies and the faculties on the campus are;

  1. Faculty of Humanities
  2. Faculty of Social Sciences
  3. Faculty of Education
  4. Faculty of Business Studies
  5. Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences

For more information about Universities in Nigeria, click