Do you need information about universities in Edo State? Then you’re in the right place.

Edo State, whose capital, Benin City has a history of being one of the foremost destinations of Europeans during their exploration of the African continent many centuries ago.

There are 4 Universities in Edo State; University of Benin, Ambrose Alli University, Benson Idahosa University and Igbinedion University

University of Benin

UNIBEN is a research university located in Benin City, owned and operated by the Federal government. It was founded in 1970. 

The university offers undergraduate and post graduate studies, and has 15 faculties listed below;

University of Benin
  1. Faculty of Agriculture
  2. Faculty of Arts
  3. Faculty of Education
  4. Faculty of Engineering
  5. Faculty of Environmental Sciences
  6. Faculty of Law
  7. Faculty of Management sciences
  8. Faculty of Life Sciences
  9. Faculty of Pharmacy
  10. Faculty of Physical Sciences
  11. College of Medical Sciences
  12. School of Basic Med. Science
  13. School of Dentistry
  14. School of Medicine
  15. Faculty of Social Sciences

Ambrose Alli University

AAU, Ekpoma is a non-profit public university in Nigeria established in 1981. It was established by the then governor of Bendel State (now Edo and Delta States).

Did you know Ambrose Alli University has a mobile evoting app?

The university offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies, the faculties are listed below;

Ambrose Alli University
  1. Agriculture
  2. Arts
  3. Basic Sciences
  4. Clinical Sciences
  5. Education
  6. Engineering & Technology
  7. Environmental Studies
  8. Law
  9. Management Science
  10. Physical Sciences
  11. Life Sciences
  12. Social Sciences
  13. College of Medicine

Benson Idahosa University

Benson Idahosa University) is a private, Christian university in Benin City, Nigeria named in honor of Archbishop Benson Idahosa

BIU (previously named Christian Faith University) , a Charismatic Pentecostal minister from Benin City, Nigeria, and reflects his evangelical beliefs.

Benson Idahosa University

The university offers undergraduate and post graduate studies, faculties in the university are listed below;

  1. Faculty of Art and Education
  2. Faculty of Agriculture
  3. Faculty of Law
  4. Faculty of Science
  5. Faculty of  Social & Management Sciences
  6. Faculty of Engineering
  7. Faculty of Basic Medical and Health Sciences

Igbinedion University, Okada

Igbinedion University, Okada is the first private university in Nigeria, established in 1999 and was founded by Sir Gabriel Osawaru Igbinedion CFR, a billionaire, philanthropist and a prominent Benin Chief.

The University has recorded several landmark achievements including being the first Private University to produce medical doctors in Sub-Saharan Africa and producing the first private university graduate in 2006 to bag a first class at the highly competitive Nigeria Law School.

Igbinedion University, Okada

IUO offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies, the university has 6 colleges which are listed below;

  1. College of Arts & Social Sciences
  2. College of Business & Management Studies
  3. College of Engineering
  4. College of Health Sciences (Medical & Health allied courses)
  5. College of Law
  6. College of Natural & Applied Sciences
  7. College of Pharmacy

For more information about Universities in Nigeria, click