Do you need information about Universities in Delta State? Then you’re in the right place.

Delta State is an oil and agricultural producing state in Nigeria and its capital is Asaba, located at the northern end of the state.

There are 3 Universities in Delta State; Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun, Delta State University and Western Delta University.

Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun

FUPRE, a Federal government owned and operated university in Delta State, was established in 2007 and admitted its first set of undergraduates in 2008.

The university is the first petroleum university in Africa and the main focus is petroleum engineering and technology related courses.

Federal University of Petroleum Resources offers pre-degree, undergraduate and post graduate studies in 2 colleges;

  1. College of Science
  2. College of Technology

Delta State University, Abraka

The State Owned and operated university located in Delta State is popularly known as DELSU. The university offers undergraduate and Post graduate studies.

DELSU operates 3 campuses in Delta State; main campus at Abraka, and others located in Asaba and Oleh, the three campuses are within a distance of about 200 km apart.

  1. Faculty of Education
  2. Faculty of Arts
  3. Faculty of Sciences
  4. Faculty of the Social Sciences
  5. Faculty of Pharmacy
  6. College of Basic Medical Sciences
  7. College of Health Technology
  8. Faculty of Agriculture.
  9. Faculty of Management Science.
  10. Faculty of Environmental Studies.
  11. Faculty of Law
  12. Faculty of Engineering
  13. Faculty of science

Western Delta University

Western Delta University is a private university located in Oghara, Delta State and was established in 2007.

Western Delta University

The School offers a range of courses: Biochemistry,Microbiology and Biotechnology, Basic And Industrial Chemistry, Mathematics & Computer Science, Computer Science, Pure and Industrial Mathematics, Physics and Energy Studies, etc through 4 Colleges which are:

  1. College of Natural & Applied Sciences
  2. College of Social & Management Sciences.
  3. Institute of Delta Studies
  4. Law (LL.B)

For more information about Universities in Nigeria, click