Do you need information about universities in Borno? Then you’re in the right place.

Borno state in north-eastern Nigeria, whose capital and largest city is Maiduguri.

Did you know Borno is the homeland of the Kanuri people in Nigeria and several other ethnic groups?

There are 2 universities in Borno state; Federal government owned and operated University of Maiduguri and Borno State University (state owned and operated).

University of Maiduguri

 UNIMAID is a Federal government owned and operated higer institution located in Maiduguri, the capital city of Borno State in northeast Nigeria.

The university was established in 1975, with the intention of its becoming one of the country’s principal higher-education institutions.

University of Maiduguri

The university offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies, and the faculties in the university are listed below;

  1. Agriculture
  2. Arts
  3. Dentistry
  4. Education
  5. Engineering
  6. Law
  7. Management Sciences
  8. Pharmacy
  9. Science
  10. Social Sciences
  11. Veterinary Medicine
  12. College of Medical Sciences

Borno State University 

Borno State University is a state government owned and operated university in Maiduguri, and it was established in 2016.

Borno State University 

It has 6 faculties which are listed below;

  1. Faculty of Sciences
  2. Faculty of Management
  3. Faculty of Arts
  4. Faculty of Social Science
  5. Faculty of Education
  6. Faculty of Engineering

For more information about Universities in Nigeria, click